A digital special section of | Subscribe

People 281 Award winners

Sort by New | Name

Ashley Morgan

Development and events coordinator

Crisis Nursery

Deborah Paul

Pioneering researcher, biochemist

34-plus years at Abbott Laboratories

Keitaro Harada

Opera and symphonic conductor

Savannah Philharmonic

Brian Courtney Wilson

Gospel & contemporary Christian singer

2015 Traditional Gospel Album Of Year

Irving Azoff

2020 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee

CEO, Azoff MSG Entertainment

Nisa (Agrawal) Johnson

Brand manager

Modelo Especial/Constellation Brands

Gretchen Gscheidle

Former design director

Herman Miller, Inc.

Dale Kempf

Abbvie distinguished research fellow

Director of Neglected Diseases Research

Amy Mays Woods

UI professor

College of Applied Health Sciences

Howard Aizenstein

2019 LAS Alumni Achievement Award

Physician, scientist, Pitt professor

Rev. Craig Mousin

DePaul University ombudsperson

2019 UI Law distinguished alumnus

Scott Shearer

Bockorny Group VP

USDA deputy ass’t secretary (1993-96)

Kendra Smiley

Author, speaker, host

2001 Illinois Mother of the Year

James Stukel

UI’s 15th president (1995-2005)

MS, Ph.D. in mechanical engineering

Brian Cook

5th on UI scoring list (1,748 points)

2,312 points in nine NBA seasons

Nicole Allen

UI professor of psychology

2011 Dazzling Woman Faculty Award

Deborah Thurston

Gutgsell Professor

Industrial and Enterprise Systems Engineering

Josie Chambers

Postdoctoral fellow in geography

University of Cambridge

Ellen Fireman

Senior lecturer

Department of Statistics

John Foreman

News-Gazette editor, publisher

2006 Illinois Journalist of Year

Donald Harris

Stanford professor emeritus

Kamala Harris’ dad

Landon Parvin

Famed GOP speechwriter

Wrote for Reagans, Bushes

Roman Paluta

Ret. partner, business development director

Solve of Minneapolis

Duane Cyrus

Director, Theatre of Movement

UNC-Greensboro professor