A digital special section of | Subscribe

People 313 Award winners

Sort by New | Name

Deborah Thurston

Gutgsell Professor

Industrial and Enterprise Systems Engineering

Josie Chambers

Postdoctoral fellow in geography

University of Cambridge

Ellen Fireman

Senior lecturer

Department of Statistics

John Foreman

News-Gazette editor, publisher

2006 Illinois Journalist of Year

Donald Harris

Stanford professor emeritus

Kamala Harris’ dad

Landon Parvin

Famed GOP speechwriter

Wrote for Reagans, Bushes

Roman Paluta

Ret. partner, business development director

Solve of Minneapolis

Duane Cyrus

Director, Theatre of Movement

UNC-Greensboro professor

Bob Starkell

11 seasons leading women’s gymnastics

2009 National Coach of the Year

Bill Self

3 seasons, 3 NCAA tournaments

78-24 as Illini basketball coach (2000-03)

Daeyeol Lee

Professor of neuroscience, psychology, psychiatry

Yale University

Beth Bugdaycay

Former Rebecca Taylor CEO

Co-founded Foundrae jewelry line

Jessica (Galli) Cloy

7-time Paralympic medal winner

Holds three world records

Paul Steely White

Director, safety policy/advocacy

Bird scooter sharing company

Jim Stone

Chair, Dept. of Astrophysical Sciences

Princeton University

Tom Dowling

UI’s 10th Rhodes scholar

Lightfoot for Chicago advisor

Alice B. McGinty

Children’s book author

Urbana Adult Ed instructor

Ed Perkins

Canada research chair in probability

University of British Columbia

Karen Thole

Engineering professor, department head

Penn State

James Holzhauer

Professional sports gambler

Won $2,464,216 on 'Jeopardy!'

Jeffrey Lieber

TV/film screenwriter/producer

‘Lost’ co-creator

Cheryl W. Thompson

NPR investigative reporter

Shared 2002 Pulitzer at Washington Post

Ed Krol

Internet Hall of Famer

‘Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Internet’ author

Graham Grady

Chicago law partner

Taft Stettinius & Hollister