A digital special section of | Subscribe

People 32 Firsts

Sort by New | Name

Nancy Rosenstengel

Chief judge

Southern District of Illinois

Ann McBrien

First woman to serve as VP/sales at Procter & Gamble

Started UIAA Comeback program, Illini Pride founding board member

Julie Freischlag

CEO, Wake Forest Baptist Health

Dean, Wake Forest School of Medicine

Tricia Taliaferro

Women’s soccer coach, 1999-2001

Coached Illini to 1st 2 NCAA tourney berths

Terri Sullivan

2010 Big Ten softball coach of year

488-369-2 in 16 seasons

Suzanne Bates

Longtime TV anchor

Bates Communications CEO

Scott Spiezio

Two-time World Series champ

Played on 2002 Angels, 2006 Cardinals

To see more profiles like this,
look for the blue corner ribbon for Gies College of Business

An education that proves your purpose

Lisa Brown

Former majority leader

Washington state Senate

Emily Jaenson

General manager

Reno Aces

Bryan Terry

Vice chancellor


Lynette Tan

Chief executive

Singapore Space & Technology Limited

Dave Downey

Big Ten Medal of Honor

Scored 53 vs. Indiana

Dick Butkus

UI retired his No. 50

Pro, College Football HOF

Perdita Felicien

2-time Summer Olympian

Illini Athletics HOF

Rita Garman

Illinois Supreme Court Justice

Vermilion Co. courthouse named in her honor

Martin Eberhard

Co-founder, former CEO

Tesla Motors

Mary Eggers Tendler

Illini Athletics HOF

Volleyball coach, Elon

Colleen Callahan

Director, Illinois Department of Natural Resources

Distinguished Service Award recipient

Yemaya Bordain

Pioneering Ph.D. student

Intel Corp. engineer

Jill Ellis

Team USA soccer coach

Illini coach, 1997-99

Judi Nash

Miss America 1969

Delta Gamma alumna

Kris McMasters

Former CEO


Carol Ross Barney

Pioneering architect

Thomas Jefferson Award

Tonja Buford-Bailey

3-time Olympian

1992 NCAA hurdles champ

Lynn Morley Martin

21st Secretary of Labor

U.S. Rep, 1981-91